Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Winter Warming Vegetable Soup

Im on a bit of a health kick- I know you wont believe me with what my previous recipes are! So last night we had veg soup for tea, I tried to follow a particular recipe – http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/877635/spiced-root-vegetable-soup
On further inspection of my fridge/cupboards some of the ingredients are either changed or missing, so heres my adaptation, which went down with my husband a treat!

Winter Warming Veg Soup

Ingredients

Glug of Olive oil
2 Onions chopped (red or white)
2 Garlic cloves – Chopped
5 Medium Carrots – Chopped
3 Parsnips – Chopped
1 chilli or tsp chilli flakes
1 tbsp Dried mixed herbs
75g of Red lentils
100g of Split peas
1.5 -2l Chicken stock (veg is fine if you prefer)
425ml Milk

In large pan heat the oil garlic and onions until soft and translucent or just starting to brown. Add the carrots and parsnips cooking for a further 2 minutes. Then add 1.5l of stock, lentils, split peas, chilli flakes and mixed herbs. Simmer for around 20 -30 minutes until the veg is softened. (Keep checking the soup and add more stock if if the water is getting low so as not to burn the veg.)

Turn off the heat and add the milk – them whizz or blend in batches until the desired consistency. Add more water if the soup is still too thick. Briefly reheat the soup before serving. Swirl some cream across the top for some indulgence..

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

