Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

An afternoon tea treat..

So today having invited our neighbours round for a cup of tea in the garden – I looked through my cupboards in despair, as I found nothing to offer them apart from a half eaten packet of jelly sweets! (this was especially a problem as when ever I go to theirs I am always offered anything from croissants, freshly baked scones through to lemon cake!) It became a ‘Ready Steady Cook Moment!’

So heres my what I made in a total of 30mins including preparation time, ready to be brought out of the oven as they walked through the door!

White chocolate scones

Ingredients

90g Plain flour
90g Wholemeal flour
3tsp sugar
1tsp Baking powder
1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
50g Butter
100g White chocolate chopped into medium chunks (I used toblerone)
3/4 cup of buttermilk

Pre heat the oven to 200 fan and line a large baking tray. Place the flour, sugar, baking powder and  bicarbonate of soda to a large mixing bowl then rub in the butter to form breadcrumbs.

Add the white chocolate followed by the buttermilk, then mix with a fork to form a sticky dough. Place nine blobs of mixture on to the baking tray evenly spaced apart. Bake in the oven for 15 -20 mins until just golden. Serve warm, fresh from the oven or cold. Enjoy!

White chocolate scones

