Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My Nutty Banana Bread

I just love banana bread – it is one of my favourite afternoon tea time snacks that I was reminded of recently whilst staying with my auntie. She is a fantastic cook that seems to know all of the secrets to making great tasting, healthy and indulgent food with out hiking up the calories! The sort of cooking that I would like to do, except I always end up adding some cheese or some other counterbalancing ingredient!

Failing to remember to ask for her recipe, late last night (far too late to ring) I decided to made up my own. The final cake is made from a mixture of recipes as I only had limited ingredients to hand.

140g self raising flour

Ingredients 
3 average size over ripe bananas
3 large eggs
150ml low fat greek yogurt
2tbsp honey
2tbsp golden syrup or ideally agave syrup
140g self raising flour
1tsp bicarb of soda
1tsp baking powder
2 tbsp chopped nuts

Recipe

Pre-heat the oven to 160 gas mark 3. Line a square baking tin or loaf tin.
Mash the bananas into a bowl, followed by the yogurt, eggs, golden syrup, honey then mix until combined.
Place the flour, bicarb and baking powder on top of the liquid ingredients then quickly mix by hand until just combined. Pour into the prepared tin, scatter over the chopped nuts and bake for 1hour 10mins or until a skewer comes out clean.

banana bread

Good Morning world! I am ready for you today….;-)

Breakfast

