Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Adventures in breakfasting – Super Nutty Pecan Granola

I have found our ultimate breakfast in this house! Sliced banana with home made nutty granola topped with yogurt! (My favourite yogurts Yeo Valley Lemon curd or blue berry!)You can definitely taste the difference between bought and a home made granola – the fresh roasted taste of nuts and the HUGE lack of other things like preservatives, salt and all the other unpronounceable chemicals!! It is also significantly cheaper in the long term – the outlay may seem costly but if you buy decent sized packs of each ingredient you can make 4-5 bought boxes of granola for half the price!

Super Nutty Pecan Granola

So finding a good breakfast has been my latest project with varying degrees of success along the way! Generally I am not a fussy eater I will try anything and there are only a very few things I dislike – Ketchup, salad cream, cadburys milk chocolate and porridge! Unfortunately breakfast has always been an effort for me as I have never been fussed by cereals and milk- I would eat each on their own, but the combination of the two is just bizarre – soggy cereal with milk… (controversial I know!)

Trying many breakfast recipes has been a challenge in its self , as neither my husband or I used to eat breakfast or have an appetite in the morning unless presented with a grilled bacon bagel!(our sunday special!)  So after many recipes this granola is by far the best for us!

Super Nutty Pecan Granola

Super Nutty Pecan Granola

200g Rolled oats
25g Desiccated coconut
25g Sesame seeds
25g Chopped nuts
80g Unsweetened puffed rice
50g Flacked almonds
100g half Pecans
125g honey
3 tbsp Sunflower oil or olive oil

Pre heat the oven to 150c / gas mark 2. Cover a large baking tray with baking parchment. Mix all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
Place a small sauce pan over a low heat with the honey and oil – bring it up to the boil mixing the whole time. Pour the liquid into the bowl of dry ingredients and stir until evenly coated. Spread the mixture across the baking tray in a nice even layer and place in the oven for 45 minutes or until crisp, stirring every ten minutes so it does not stick together in great clumps. leave to cool then store in an air tight container for about  a month.

